The day after St Valentine’s day

Yesterday was St.VD.  It ended brilliantly with a Showadywaddywaddy tribute band.  The “dinner/dance” was in la Verdura at the top of the village.  The place was packed and a good night was had by the 150 or so people who attended.  I was well Brahms and Liszt – for a change.

The day started badly though.  I was up early and at around 9.05 a.m. our doorbell buzzed (it’s a doorbuzzer really).  I found a very tearful Linda (from across the road) who managed to tell me that Harry the cat had been killed on the road. 

This cat was a great little character and had recently recovered from an attack from a huge dog.  He sort of belonged to the whole street really and he was Mimi’s best mate until Ruby came into her life.

Linda and I buried Harry in the banking at the bottom of the street.  I later laid a big stone over him on which I had scratched “HS 2010 – 2011”.  A brief epitaph for his brief but happy life.  He will be sorely missed for two or three days.

Today has been a different kind of day – me and Mar have done sod all – we’ve been recovering from our late night.  Anyway it rained on and off nearly all day for a change.  The forecast is back to good tomorrow.

I’ve just realised – Harry’s untimely demise could be referred to as the St. Valentine’s day massacre.

About Stevie B

I retired to the sun in February 2010. I am far from bored but I do need an interest (preferably one that pays).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

