Back from Blighty

Hello everyone.

I’m back in Spain having visited the UK for four days.  I was made very welcome by my son and daughter-in-law, my brother and my best mate and their wives.  There were some people who I would have liked to have visited in addition to these folks but one can only do so much in a short time.  I did manage to have fish and chips on two occasions and I also had a couple of hot-cross-buns.  F & C can be had out here but somehow it just isn’t the same.

As an additional bonus the weather was brilliant.

We all know that Freddie Flintoff was the new Ian Botham and he is still respected by most people even though he’s retired and will no doubt be long-remembered.  However – he is involved in an advert where he decides to take a load of kids into a fucking supermarket to show them a good time!  Am I missing something here?  I think if I took my grandkids to Morrison’s in Knottingley to show them a good-time there would be men in white coats coming for me.

Freddie – take them swimming, to the pictures, bowling, playing pool or snooker, for a walk in the country, to the seaside, for a bike-ride, even bloody train-spotting would be preferable to a supermarket!  Show me a kid who likes going to the supermarket and I’ll show you a future serial-killer or banker or politician or some other scary dick-head.

Oh yes – while I’m having my little rant about Morrison’s advertisement – when did buns become cupcakes for fuck’s sake?  The Yanks are welcome to their sidewalks, elevators, car hoods and trunks etcetera blah-blah but let them keep their language at their side of the Atlantic.  Bloody cupcakes.  The English will be saying “have a nice day” soon. 

This “have a nice day” attitude will be here in Spain in another thirty or forty years as well – a supermarket check-out girl smiled at us the other day.  Mind you – it could have been a bit of wind.

Having had Annie as a visitor for a couple of weeks I have realised that the kids are talking very strangely in that annoying australian way of rising up at the end of a sentence making everything sound like a question.  Come on Mums and Dads of Britain – start battering the little feckers and make them talk proper.  It’s our language after all – why should we allow the Aussies and the Yanks to ruin it. 

Must go – it’s a lovely day and I have jobs to do.

Y’all have a nice day now?

About Stevie B

I retired to the sun in February 2010. I am far from bored but I do need an interest (preferably one that pays).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

