Wishletta de Baht

Well – at last the Royal Wedding has come and gone.  The reporters should be congratulated on being able to waffle on for hours on end about absolutely nothing.  Let’s not forget the crowds who queued for hours or even days for a five second glimpse of the happy couple.  All I can say is that it’s a good job we’re all different.  It seems to me that the people who had a good night’s sleep the night before in a nice warm bed and then had a lie-in, had the best view.

As for the vicar who married Bill and Kate – where the hell did they drag him up from?  Thousands of pounds spent on making everybody look nice and they get a scruffy old man from Barnsley to marry them!

Don’t get me wrong – I have nothing against Barnsley.  I think Barnsley folks are the friendliest folks in Yorkshire (and therefore the World).

The vicar then – does thy William take thee Kate to be thy lawful wedded ‘usband?  Does thy Kate tek thee Billy to be thy lawful wedded wife?  Aye a do.  Then there was something about tearing round to your house to see thee o’ Sunda (Barnsley for “on Sunday”).

Barnsley is definitely a breeding ground for vicars.

I have a mate who originates from Doncaster but emigrated to Barnsley in later life and picked up the accent.  Some of you might wonder what this all has to do with “Wishletta de Baht” – the title of this blog.  ([{Just a quick racist joke – what do you call a Barnsley Karaoke singer?  Gerupta Singh.}])  Back to W de B – no, it’s not an exotic dancer from Barnsley – it’s an expression meaning “we shall have to do without”.  If you can’t work it out let me know.

Just a word about the Spanish weather.  Caca.

Every time we think it’s settled down it proves us wrong.  Wednesday or Miercoles as us bilingualists say, was absolutely fabulous.  Thursday or Ethethethaday was equally good.  Friday – rotten – Saturday the same and the forecast for the next week is just as depressing.  Ho hum – it doesn’t seem to matter as much when you live here.  We appreciate that the gardens need it.

I had a friend come round on Thursday – he’s a visitor from Northern Ireland.  His heart has been touched by one of the latest little dogs who has been booted-out by its basteyed Spanish owner.  I think I might have mentioned what a horrible, callous bunch most of them are when it comes to their pets.

My lovely wife won’t entertain the idea of us having a second dog but I have a plan.  I know someone who might take it.  Watch this space.

About Stevie B

I retired to the sun in February 2010. I am far from bored but I do need an interest (preferably one that pays).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

