Bit of a catch-up

It’s been a while since I blogged and I have to blame my visitors.  There just doesn’t seem to be a spare minute when one is entertaining.

Right then – to catch up.

I’ve always wanted a wheelbarrow.  I’ve had use for one over the last eighteen months but managed to get by with the help of neighbours – Doug to be precise.

The other night we (me, Mar, Trev & Jan) went to a restaurant in Pilar de la Horadada to celebrate J & T’s 49th Wedding Anniversary (I think it’s cardboard or something).  On the way home we decided the night was young enough to call in our village for a drink.  I dropped off at home to collect the dog and walk her up to the village to join the party.  Mimi had spent a long time on her own this day due to a trip to the beach and then the restaurant so I was feeling guilty.

On the way to the village Mimi and I saw this guy committing what seemed to be an act of vandalism.  This vandalism consisting of throwing something really hard to the ground.  He ran off as I neared.  When I arrived at where he was vandalising, I saw what he’d been doing – see photograph below.

Hissing Sid bites the dust

 

The thinner part was actually still wriggling when I got there.  He been throwing a red, paving brick at the hapless creature.  I do not wish to get into the debate of live and let live or whether it should be death to all things that slither.

I bravely carried on to the pub – yeah I know – what a hero.  I then told everyone that I had wrestled a thirty foot black mamba and managed to overcome it with my bare-hands.  It’s funny that “bare-hands” thing – your hands are usually bare but the only time you call them bare is when you’re killing something.

During the ensuing conversation in the pub my (normally) lovely wife managed to convey that she thought I was bone-idle… she’s been an uppity little fucker since she started working – she forgets the time before my retirement I was working seven days a week at the pit and the like.  I was rightly upset at this insinuation so I sort of stormed off in a huff, dragging my little pal behind me.

Imagine my utter amazement to discover someone has discarded a really nice wheelbarrow near the bins.  The previous (Spanish) owners decided it was a good idea to use the barrow as a BBQ.  The silly sods.  The result was burns to the upper and lower parts of the hopper of the barrow plus a knackered tyre and inner-tube.

I had a tin if black paint and a new tyre and inner-tube cost me 12 Euros.  My shiny black barrow with its new tyre is envied by everyone that’s seen it.

That reminds me of the old joke about the guy who wants his wife to try a new sexual position – the wheelbarrow.  She refuses point-blank.  After many weeks of sulking, pleading, begging and whingeing she relented.  “On one condition” she says.  “What’s that?” he replies.  She says – “You won’t take me past me mam’s…”

Back to the story – I now have a fantastic new toy.  All it needs is a couple of go-faster stripes.

During T & J’s visit we made a few visit to the Mar Menor and the Mediterranean because it was the only place to get any respite from the fierce temperatures.  On the day before they left, we decided…

… I’ve just decided to tell that tale another day.

About Stevie B

I retired to the sun in February 2010. I am far from bored but I do need an interest (preferably one that pays).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

