A warm winter ahead

As you can see in the photograph above, we have splashed out and bought ourselves a wood-burning stove.  It’s hard to believe the way the temperatures are at the moment but it gets chilled to the marrow cold here in winter.  It’s so warm at the moment that we had a BBQ at our friends’ house yesterday and we sat out until around 8.30pm wearing shorts and t-shirts.

You can’t really tell at from the photograph, but the fire isn’t functional yet.  There’s a couple of metres of pipe to go above the fire yet and then it’s going through the wall where it will rise another couple of metres, culminating in some sort of device to stop down-draught.

We (that’s my lovely wife and I) plan to build a mock chimney breast using a local stone.  I will attach more photographs when there has been some progress.

Where I’m working (gardening) I’ve just got to the tree-felling stage so in a few days time I’ll have tons of wood even though I won’t be able to use it until it’s cured.

We’ve had two winters here using a portable gas-fire which is not really ideal – hopefully we’ll be snug as bugs this year.

About Stevie B

I retired to the sun in February 2010. I am far from bored but I do need an interest (preferably one that pays).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

